Esplora contenuti correlati



The Gender Equality Advisory Council (GEAC) was established in 2018 as an independent consultative body of the G7 on gender equality and women's empowerment issues, with the aim of providing specific recommendations to the G7 Leaders.

The Italian Presidency of the G7 launched the new format of the GEAC, which starting from 2024 is made up partly of experts recommended by the G7 countries selected in consultation with the incoming G7 Presidency of Canada and who remain in office for two years, and partly of experts chosen by the current Presidency, who maintain their role for one year.

Marina Terragni, journalist and author who has long been active on the issues of feminism and equal opportunities, has been appointed President of the GEAC and will lead the work that will result in the definition of specific Recommendations that will be presented to the G7 Leaders on the occasion of the Borgo Egnazia Summit of July 13-15 2024. The GEAC presented on June 7 its Recommendations addressed to G7 Leaders and Ministers responsible for equal opportunities and will produce a more detailed Report to be presented to the Italian Presidency of the G7 by the end of the year. 


GEAC 2024 members

Marina Terragni Chair GEAC 2024, journalist, columnist, commentator 

Masih Alinejad Iranian-American journalist, author and women’s rights activist

Chiara Corazza Associate Professor and member of the International Advisory Board of ESCP Business School, former GEAC member

Marco Del Giudice Associate Professor at the University of Trieste (until July 8, 2024)

Frances Fitzgerald Irish Member of the European Parliament

Laura Frigenti CEO - Global Partnership for Education

Maxime Houinato Regional Director Eastern & Southern Africa - UN Women

Lierre Keith American writer, feminist and food activist, founder of Women's Liberation Front 

Catherine Ladousse Co-chair of the Parity Commission of the Haut Conseil à l'Égalité entre les femmes et les hommes

Hedwige Nuyens Chair of European Women on Boards

Sarah Sands Journalist and author. Member of the GEAC over the last three years, and chaired it in 2021

Paulette Senior Senator of Canada

Sawako Shirahase  Chair GEAC 2023

Düzen Tekkal Co-founder of HÁ

Loredana Teodorescu President, Women In International Security (WIIS) Italy; Head of the Mediterranean Women Mediators Network.

Melanne Verveer Executive Director of the Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security 


Torna all'inizio del contenuto